Raja Yoga

Raja Yoga (Sanskrit for “royal yoga”) — is one of the main types of yoga, with the emphasis on meditation. It is based on the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali. Raja yoga is divided into eight stages and therefore is also called Ashtanga yoga (i.e. “composed of eight stages”). This type of yoga is focused on mind and consciousness development. There are almost no asanas and only few pranayamas. Nearly all the time during the practice is devoted to meditation.